Sunday, April 02, 2006

the guggenheim grotto

When I was assembling music for Friday’s Soundtrack for a Stormy Evening I stumbled upon The Guggenheim Grotto. The Guggenheim Grotto is a new trio from Ireland who released their debut album, Waltzing Alone, in September. Since they’re an independent band signed to an obscure label, they haven’t been the recipients of a big promotional push, but their appearance two weeks ago at the SXSW (South by Southwest) Festival has created some buzz.

Guggenheim Grotto’s music is quiet, clever and not dissimilar from that of countrymen David Grey or Damien Rice. It is acoustic and great for our continuing stormy weather. Last night I was trading messages with Scott and we started discussing Guggenheim Grotto. Scott used the Yahoo Music Engine to download Waltzing Alone and here was Scott's reaction:

1. Philosophia - great vocal balance, simple melodies, reminiscent of american folk songs of years past, with just a hint of irish twist. my favorite
2. Portmarmarnock Beach Boy Blue - clannad goes modern, kicks it out
3. Told You So – carina digs it. wants to see the music video. sadly nothing to show, but makes good background music while i video her drying her hair
4. Wonderful Wizard - a little odd. this lyric is a little disturbing: "like a tiger with no taste for bone"
5. Rosanna - decent, a little soft
6. I Think I Love You - reminds me too much of my redneck past. fast forwarding
7. Ozymandias – a kings-of-convenience-wannabe, which of course is simon/garfunkle-wannabe
8. A Lifetime In Heat - life in heat depresses me, like a rainy day. but pretty song
9. Koan – no comment
10. Vertigo - good change of pace. nice retro feel
11. Cold Truth - again with the depression. cold cold. need some heat on the green isle. solid vocals keep us tuned in
12. Tromboner - what's with the bones? tigers with no taste for tromboners. a song about trombones with only vocals and synth. strange way to wrap.

paul: can I quote you?
scott: if you're that desperate ;)

Well, I am that desperate and I am also delighted that The Guggenheim Grotto has generously made a number of mp3 from their Waltzing Alone available for download from their website. These include:

They also have added download links for two non-album tracks from the A Lifetime in Heat EP:

My favorite tracks are "A Lifetime in Heat" and "Cold Truth."

I've ordered their CD from CD Baby, an excellent online store with unusual inventory and awesome customer service, and I can't wait for it to arrive. For those with less patience or less interest in phsical media, Waltzing Alone is available as a download from eMusic, iTunes and Yahoo Music.

Bonus link: The Guggenheim Grotto did a fantastic live set for KCRW from the BBC's Maida Vale Studios in January. The setlist was And a Tear, A Lifetime in Heat, I Think I Love You, Told You So, Wonderful Wizard and a new song, Beautiful Idea. Listen here


At 3:23 PM, Blogger Trini said...

I can't wait for the new album to come out. Kat just posted a new podcast that caputures the guys sense of humor. You should check it out. I love the Guggi's!

At 8:51 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

guggenheim is a lame school after o6


Post a Comment

<< Main page